Layers can be used to make more complex drawings or sketches, or to show and hide sections of your work. Layers allow you to draw on different levels, and you can hide, delete, or rearrange the layers for more creative control and freedom when you’re drawing or taking notes.
In notebooks the background layer consists of the selected template. Even if your notebook has a blank background, it still has the default blank template as its background layer. The background layer can't be deleted or moved.
Note: It’s also possible to add layers of annotations to PDFs and ebooks, although you can’t use templates in this context or convert handwriting on those layers.

How to use layers

Create a new layer by tapping Add layer while in the pop-up menu the Layers icon opens.
Hide a layer by tapping the visibility icon (an eye). When the eye is closed, your layer is hidden.

Merge layers by tapping the merge layers icon in the side menu, next to Trash. You can add up to five active layers. If you need to make some changes, use the undo button to reopen the individual layers.

Delete a layer by clicking the trash icon.
Rearrange layers by tapping the arrows in the list of layers.
*You can’t rearrange the template layer.
Frequently asked questions
How do I know which layer I am currently on?
The layer becomes active when picked from the Layers menu (becomes highlighted in black). If you tap the Layers icon, the active layer currently is the one highlighted.
I hid the layer but it keeps coming back when I write.
The layer you have hidden may still be selected (highlighted in black), making it the active layer, which would reveal it every time a line is made while it is selected. Please check the Layers menu and if your highlighted layer has the closed eye icon, then tap on a different layer (where you would like to keep working) to switch to it.
*Hiding all layers but one does not make that the active layer - selecting it from the pop-up menu does.
Can I export a document with only a few layers, not all of them?
It is currently not possible to choose some and exclude other layers for export. However, you could duplicate (long-press > Duplicate) the document in question, and then prepare it for export by deleting the layers you would like to exclude on those specific pages.
I accidentally deleted a layer, can I bring it back?
If you have not exited the document, you may be able to restore the layer using the Undo button or gesture (two-finger tap).
How do I make flashcards using layers?
Learn how to make flashcards on your reMarkable using layers.